Boy: A noise with dirt on it.

Recently, Lil Man disappeared with two of his neighborhood friends after they were told to stay in the front yard where I could see them. I followed the sounds of little boys laughter and rough housing until I located them in the alleyway behind our home, down a ways near the empty lot they like to play soccer on.

Much to my horror and amusement, two of the boys were inside of a large dumpster and the third was doing his very best to hoist them up and out of their predicament – to no avail. Their expressions were determined as they tried to find a way to get free, and soon became a mix of terror and relief when they saw me approaching them with the baby on my hip.

“We just needed that box and a wood board for our ramp!”

“It was my idea, they just said okay and wanted to help!”

“Look! I got it, Mama!! I wasn’t scared at all, and I knew I could climb in.

…I didn’t think I’d get stuck though…”

They all talked at once, covering each other’s words – his friends desperately trying to keep him out of trouble while Lil Man proudly declared his part in it all, incriminating himself beyond where I had found him. In a dirty, old dumpster. Far away from the front yard. In the busy alley that I have several times before told them all to stay out of without an adult…

I had a terrible time being stern with them, giggling to myself at the whole ordeal and trying to get past the amazement I felt. They were all informed of the unpleasantness found in dumpsters, and told of the painful ways you can deglove a finger (as well as other injuries.) In the end, however, I allowed Lil Man to help with the ramp-building, and testing said ramp out after it was completed.

He promised to never dumpster dive again, and had a steaming hot shower.

…And was promptly grounded an hour later when I had to hunt him down again, since he didn’t ask to leave the yard as we discussed him doing only a short time before. (Don’t blink, people! That’s all the time it takes!)

*sigh* It’s a difficult thing to encourage exploration and discovery while still maintaining as safe an environment as possible. These boys are gunna give me a heart attack…

Leave a Reply

